The Lofty Status of Peons


Originally posted on The Gospel in China:

I’ve just got one more post I want to share about our getting the boot. The drama continues there in northeast China, of course. The Chinese pastors occasionally get phone calls from the police. About a week ago, the police wanted them to turn over my bank card number so that they could check to see if I was a cult leader or not. Not sure what my bank card was going to tell them about my orthodoxy! This whole experience has certainly taught us much, and I hope that some of those lessons will serve others, as well.

My missionary mentor had to lend me some perspective in the days after Easter, when we discovered that I was going to be expelled. He could tell that I was sort of reeling from the blow, and he wanted to speak some establishing words. And the establishing words he spoke were also…

View original 1,301 more words

Leave a Reply

